Independent learning

In our class this week, we discussed what it means to be an independent learner.

To me, independent learning means working on your own. To do this, you need to manage your time well and have a lot of self-discipline. It is difficult because I have never had control of my own learning before. The disadvantage is that you cannot view other people’s opinions and get ideas from others. Another disadvantage is that you cannot ask around and understand what is going on such as in situations like reading texts. However, it is not all bad; this will help getting independent and standing on your own feet because you will need this skill in the future.

In my old school, I was used to get help from teachers or acquaintances and when I wasn’t sure of something I was able to ask around. Maybe, I am looking at this in a different perspective and maybe when I actually start to imply this method of learning, I will realize that this does not mean that I have figure out everything myself. I can use sources such as this blog to see what everyone else thinks about a specific idea. I think this skill will help in future years of my studies because if I start to learn to stand on my own feet from this age, I won’t rely on my parents or teachers or friends to be the only source of information.

This seems a bit intimidating to me because I have not ever used this method of learning before. I think I can learn a lot by this method, not only about the book but whether I need anyone to lean on or to go to for help.

One thought on “Independent learning

  1. Sandra, you seem to have embraced the idea of learning independently well, but please be assured that it doesn’t mean you always have to work things out with no help. The whole point of independent learning is to come to your own understanding by yourself, without me telling you the “right answer” but in order to do that you should be discussing with me and with your friends so that you get a wide viewpoint from which to make your own conclusions.

    It is important, you are right, to master this skill as soon as possible as you will find your learning will be deeper and more meaningful. I hope you continue to enjoy learning but please do ask for help if and when you need it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *